Alumni Contacts

 

Updated as of 3/1/2016

 

Listing is alphabetical by last name.  Click here to download a PDF.

 

Alumni – Students, Fellows and Visitors

Stephanie Dall Vechia-Adams, Ph.D. Emory University, 2001
In lab: 1996-2001, Graduate Student
Current: Patent Agent, King & Spaulding, Atlanta, Georgia

404-734-3262
sadams@kslaw.com

 

Larry Adams, Ph.D., University of Michigan, 1998

In lab: Sept 1998 – Jan 2000, Postdoctoral Fellow

Current: President/founder/CEO of Seren Bio-Technologies Inc, Carlsbad, CA.

619-201-5077

ladamsphd@gmail.com

 

Samir F. Atweh, M.D. American University of Beirut, 1974
In lab: August 1977-June 1977, Post Doctoral Fellow
Current: Professor and Head of Neurology, American University of Beirut School of Medicine,
sfatweh@aub.edu.lb

 

Burcu Balkan, MD., Ph.D. Ege University, 1994, 2000
In lab: August 2001-August 2002, Visiting Scientist
Current: Professor, Ege University, Izmir, Turkey

burcu.balkan69@gmail.com

 

Govind Nair Bhagavatheeshwaran, Ph.D. U Mass Med Sch and Worcester Polytech (joint), 2008

In lab: 2006-2007 (9 months), Collaborating Graduate Student

Current: Staff Scientist, NIH

govind.bhagavatheeshwaran@nih.gov

 

Stephanie J. Bird, Ph.D. Yale University, 1975
In lab: June 1975 – July 1976, Postdoctoral Fellow
Current: Special Assistant to the Provost, MIT, Boston, Massachusetts
sjbird@mit.edu

 

Bruce E. Blough, Ph.D.
University of South Carolina, 1990
April 1993 – April 1994, Postdoctoral Fellow
Research Scientist, Research Triangle Institute, Research Triangle Park, North Carolina

 

John W. Boja, Ph.D. Northeastern Ohio Universities, 1988
In lab: April 1988 – August 1994, Senior Staff Fellow
Current: Pharmacologist, U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission
jboja@cpsc.gov

 

Emily S. Boja, Ph.D. Medical College of Virginia, 1999.

In lab: Summer student

Current: Program officer, NCI, NIH

emily.boja@nih.gov

 

Catherine Cerruti, Ph.D. University of Sciences and Techniques of Languedoc, 1991
In lab: November 1992 – December 1994, Visiting Fellow
Current: Research Scientist, INSERM, Paris, France

 

Elizabeth Cline, Ph.D. University of Wyoming, 1990

In lab: July 1, 1990 – May 8, 1992, PRAT fellow.

Current: Cline Enterprises, Golden, CO

303 817 5949

ibby_c@mac.com

 

Joseph Contrera, Ph.D. New York University, 1966
In lab: January 1975 – August 1975, Visiting Scientist
Current: Supervisory Pharmacologist, Retired from FDA
Pastor Couceyro, Ph.D. Vollum Institute, 1994
In lab: Postdoctoral Fellow and Assistant Research Professor, 1993-1998
Current: Assistant Prof, Finch University of the Health Sciences, Chicago Medical School, Chicago, Illinois (lost contact)

 

Robert DeHaven, M.S. West Virginia University, 1972

In lab: 1973 – 1980, Lab Manager

Current: Tech Transfer and Business Development, Thomas Jefferson University, Philadelphia PA

robert.dehaven@jefferson.edu

bobdehaven@comcast.net

 

Errol B. De Souza, Ph.D. University of Toronto, 1982
In lab: January 1983 – January 1985, Postdoctoral Fellow

Current: President and CEO, Biodel Inc, Cambridge, MA
edesouza@biodel.com

cell number 617 230 2195

 

Geraldina Dominguez, Ph.D. Georgia State University, 1991
In lab: February 2000 – September 2002, Research Associate; Assistant Research Professor, Yerkes National Primate Research Center
Current: Program Director, Office of AIDS Malignancy Program, NIH, Rockville, Maryland
domingug@mail.nih.gov

 

Annette Fleckenstein, Ph.D. Michigan State University, 1994
In lab: May 1994 – March 1995, Postdoctoral Fellow
Current: Professor, University of Utah, Salt Lake City, Utah
fleckenstein@msscc.med.utah.edu

 

Ann Foard (Adams), DDS, Univ of MD, 1984

In lab: July 1979 – July 1980, technician

Current: Dentist in private practice

va007@aol.com

 

Darlene Francis, Ph.D. McGill University, Montreal, Canada, 2000
In lab: 2003-2004, Research Associate
Current: Assoc. Professor, U of CA at Berkeley, Berkeley, CA, 94720,

510 642 9513

darlenefrancis@berkeley.edu

 

James Frost, M.D., Ph.D. Washington University in St. Louis, 1994 

In lab: July 1980 – June 1981, Postdoctoral Fellow

Current: Consultant, Baltimore MD

 

Bridgette E. Garrett, Ph.D. Emory University, 1995
In lab: 1997-1998, Research Associate (faculty)
Current: Behavioral Pharmacologist, CDC, Atlanta, Georgia
bgarrett@cdc.gov

Blackberry: 404-717-7394

 

Nicholas E. Goeders, Ph.D. Louisiana State Univ. Medical Center, 1984
In lab: July 1984 – September 1985, Postdoctoral Fellow
Current: Professor and Head, Department of Pharmacology, LSU, Shreveport, Louisiana
ngoede@lsuhsc.edu

 

Ariel Gomez, Ph.D. University of Chile, 1970.

In lab: Oct  1980 – Nov 1980, Visiting Scientist

Current: Prof of Neurology, University of Chile, (deceased)

 

Wenhe Gong, Ph.D. Emory University 1995

In lab: 1998 – 1999, Res Associate

Current: Computer Industry, Atlanta (lost contact)

 

Walt Hubert, Ph.D.  Emory University, 2003

In Lab: 2004 – 2010, Postdoctoral fellow

Current: Statistical Analyst, Immucor, Inc.

 

Richard Hunter, Ph.D. Emory University, 2004
In lab: 1999-2004, Graduate Student and Postdoctoral Fellow

Assistant Prof, U mass.

Richard.Hunter@umb.edu

 

Thomas R. Insel, M.D. Boston University Medical School, 1974
In lab: January 1984 – April 1984, Visiting Scientist
Current: Director, National Institute of Mental Health, Bethesda, Maryland
tinsel@mail.nih.gov

 

Jason Jaworski, Ph.D. University of Texas at Austin, 2001
In lab: 2001-2004, Postdoctoral Fellow
Current: Oregon Health Sciences Institute, Portland, Oregon
drjjaworski@yahoo.com, jaworski@ohsu.edu

 

Martin Job PhD. University of Texas 2009

In lab: 2009 – 2013, Postdoctoral fellow

Current: Senior Postdoctoral fellow, Georgia State Univ.

femijob@gmail.com

 

Doug Jones, PhD. University of Texas, 2004

In lab: 2004 – 2010, Postdoctoral Fellow

Current: Assistant Prof, Midwestern University, Glendale, AZ.

djones@midwestern.edu

 

Andrew R Joyce, Ph.D. UC San Diego, 2007.

In lab: 1999-2002,  Project Leader,

Current: Chief Scientific Officer, Venebio Group LLC.

andrew.joyce@venebio.com

 

Heather L. Kimmel, Ph.D. Emory University, 1997
In lab: 1997-2001, Postdoctoral Fellow
Current: Health Scientist Administrator, NIDA,

301 443 6504,

heather.kimmel@nih.gov

 

Nicolai Klemm, Ph.D. University of Mainz, 1965

In lab: 1977 – 1978, Postdoctoral Fellow

Current: Faculty, University of Constance, Constance, Germany. (lost contact)

 

Marie A. Kozel, B.S. Emory University, 2003
In lab: 2001-2003, Honors Undergraduate Student
Current: MD-PhD Student, Washington University in St. Louis, St. Louis, Missouri
kozelm@wustl.edu

 

Ersin O. Koylu, MD, Ph.D. Anadolu Medical School, Turkey, 1987, 1994
In lab: 1995-1997, Postdoctoral Fellow
Current: Professor, Ege University, Izmir, Turkey

ersin.koylu@gmail.com

 

Anita Lakatos, M.D. Ph.D. Medical University, Pecs, Hungary, 1995
In lab: 1999-2001, Postdoctoral Fellow; 2003-2005, Research Associate
Current: Research Associate, University of California at Irvine.

alakatos@uci.edu

 

Philip Lambert, Ph.D. Royal Postgraduate Medical School, London,

In lab: Postdoctoral fellow and Res Associate, 1994,1996-1998,

Current: CSO, Vivopath, Worcester, MA.

508 751 5000, x104

plambert@vivopath.com

 

Herbert Lepor, M.D. Johns Hopkins University, 1979
In lab: October 1982 – Oct 1983, Postdoctoral Fellow,

Current: Urology, NYU Langone,

646-825-6327

 

Robert Lew, Ph.D. University of Melbourne, 1987
In lab: April 1988 – August 1991, Visiting Foreign Fellow
Current: Director of Early Drug Development at Sunovion, Marlborough MA

Robert.Lew@sunovion.com

508 251 0782

 

Jordan Licata, BS Emory University 2012

In lab:  Res Assistant 2010 – 2012

Current: Medical Student, Western University of Osteopathic Med, Oregon.

 

Yiming Lin, MD 1990, Hunan Col of Traditional Chinese Med,  PhD Shanghai Sec Med Univ.

In lab: 2008 – 2011, Assist. Res. Prof.

Current: Research Assoc, Emory College, Atlanta GA

lym0906@yahoo.com

 

Richard Mauer Ph.D. University of Bern, 1970

In lab: August 1980 – Sept 1980, Visiting Scientist

Current: Drug Industry, Switzerland. (lost contact)

 

Kate M McGirr Ph.D. U Cal Berkeley, 2005

In lab: 1996 – 1998. Technician

Current: Marketing manager, Cytonome, Boston MA

 

Ilan McNamara PhD. Stony Brook University 2009

In lab: Postdoctoral fellow, 2009 – 2010

Current: Consultant, Accenture.

 

Mark Moffett, Ph.D.  LSU 2004

In lab:  2004 – 2008, Postdoctoral fellow

Current: Research Scientist Contractor, US Army, Aberdeen MD

markcmoffett@gmail.com

mark.c.moffett.ctr@mail.mil

 

Charles Murrin, Ph.D. Yale University, 1975
In lab: August 1975 – August 1978, Postdoctoral Fellow

Current: Retired from University of Nebraska School of Medicine, Omaha, Nebraska

cmurrin@unmc.edu

 

Debra L. Niehoff, Ph.D. Johns Hopkins University, 1983
In lab: September 1978 – January 1983, Graduate Student

Current: The Association for Frontotemporal Degeneration
dniehoff@theaftd.org

debra.l.niehoff@gmail.com

 

Luis Orensanz Ph.D. Universidad Complutense de Madrid 1976.

In Lab: July 1981 – October 1981, Visiting Scientist

Current: Section Head in Neurobiology, Ramon y Cajal Uinversity Hospital, Madrid, Spain

luis.m.orensanz@hrc.es

 

Jose M. Palacios, Ph.D. Universidad Automa de Barcelona, 1976
In lab: August 1978 – July 1981, Postdoctoral Fellow
Current: Retired from Laboratorios Almirall, S.A., Barcelona, Spain
jmpalacios09@gmail.com

 

Amrat Patel, Ph.D. University of Oklahoma, Oklahoma City, 1986
In lab: December 1990 – October 1995, Senior Staff Fellow
Current: Retired from National Institute on Drug Abuse, NIH, Bethesda, Maryland
apateluk@hotmail.com

 

JoAnna Perry, DVM. VA-MD Regional College of Vet Medicine, 2010.

In lab: 2010 – 2012, Postdoctoral Fellow

Current: Medical Writer, Articulate Science, Atlanta GA.

joannaj.perry@gmail.com

 

Kelly B. Philpot, Ph.D. University of Georgia
In lab: 2001-May 2006, Predoctoral Fellow
Current: Project Specialist, Kendle International, Inc.
kelly.philpot@hotmail.com

 

Nancy Pilotte, Ph.D. Florida State University, Tallahassee, 1977
In lab: June 1987 – March 1994, Staff Fellow
Current: Branch Chief, National Institute on Drug Abuse, NIH, Bethesda, Maryland
npilotte@nih.gov

 

Sakire Pögün, Ph.D. Ege University, Izmir, Turkey, 1977
In lab: August 1992 – August 1993, Visiting Scientist Professor of Physiology,

Current: Ege University School of Medicine, Izmir, Turkey

sakirepogun@gmail.com
Mary C. Ritz, Ph.D. University of Minnesota, 1985
In lab: January 1987 – January 1989, Postdoctoral Fellow
Current: Retired from, Regenesis Biomedical, Inc.

maryritz@rocketmail.com

 

George Rogge, Ph.D., BS. Beloit College, 1999

In Lab: 2004 – 2010, Graduate Student

Current: Postdoctoral fellow, U Cal at Irvine

Grogge2002@yahoo.com

 

Hans Rommelspacher, M.D. University of Berlin, 1968
In lab: May 1973 – September 1974, Postdoctoral Fellow
Current: Retired from University of Berlin, Berlin, Germany, CEO Audiocure Pharma.
hr@audiocure.de

 

John Sharkey, Ph.D. University of Glasgow, 1986
In lab: January 1987 – May 1988, Postdoctoral Fellow
Current: Senior Lecturer, University of Dundee, Scotland

j.z.sharkey@dundee.ac.uk

 

Elias Shaya, M.D. American University of Beirut, 1984
In lab: October 1990 – November 1993, Visiting Scientist;

Current: Private Practice,

443-444-4540
eshaya@pol.net

 

Rabi Simantov, Ph.D. The Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel, 1974
In lab: June 1989 – April 1991, Visiting Scientist
Current: Retired from The Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel (lost contact)
Jay R. Simon, Ph.D. University of Maryland, 1973
In lab: August 1973 – October 1975, Postdoctoral Fellow
Current: Retired from Indiana University School of Medicine, Professor, Indianapolis, Indiana

jsimon@iupui.edu

 

Lisa Stanek, Ph.D. Emory University, 2005
In lab: July 1995-March 2006, Postdoctoral Fellow
Current: Retired from Drug Industry (lost contact)

 

Roger Summers, Ph.D. University of London, 1968
In lab: May 1982 – September 1982, Visiting Scientist

Current: Professor and Associate Dean, Monash University, Australia
roger.summers@med.monash.edu.au

 

Milt Titeler, Ph.D. University of Toronto, 1978
In lab: 1984, Visiting Scientist
Current: Professor of Pharmacology, Albany Medical College Albany, New York
teitlem@mail.amc.edu

 

James R. Unnerstall, Ph.D. Johns Hopkins University, 1984
In lab: September 1979 – October 1984, Graduate Student.

Current: Retired from University of Illinois at Chicago, Chicago, Illinois

jru@uic.edu

 

Roxanne Vaughan, Ph.D. Virginia Polytechnic Institute, 1985
In lab: 1990-1996, Senior Staff Fellow
Current: Professor, University of North Dakota, Grand Forks, North Dakota
roxanne.vaughan@UND.edu

701-777-3419

 

Aleksandra Vicentic, Ph.D. Loyola University, 2000
In lab: 1997-1999, Graduate Student
Current: Program Director, NIMH, NIH
vicentica@mail.nih.gov

 

James K. Wamsley, MD., Ph.D. University of Iowa, 1978
In lab: December 1978 – July 1981, Postdoctoral Fellow
Current:  VP, Quintiles.

jkwamsley@gmail.com

Mobile: 336-543-4150

Phone: 336-499-6154

 

Peter J. Whitehouse, M.D., Ph.D. Johns Hopkins University (M.D., 1975; Ph.D., 1977)
In lab: June 1981 – June 1982, Postdoctoral Fellow
Current: Director, Alzheimer’s Center, University Hospital of Cleveland, Ohio
pjw3@po.cwru.edu

 

Nils Wierup Ph.D. 2006, Lund Univ.

In lab: Visiting Scientist, Sept 2005

Current: Associate prof, Researcher, Lund Univ., Lund Sweden.

nils.wierup@med.lu.se

 

Scott Young, III, M.D., Ph.D. Johns Hopkins University (M.D., 1977; Ph.D., 1980)
In lab: September 1977 – April 1980, Graduate Student
Current: Research Scientist, National Institutes of Health, Bethesda, Maryland
wsy@mail.nih.gov

 

Marco A. Zarbin, M.D., Ph.D. Johns Hopkins University, 1984
In lab: March 1980 – April 1984, Graduate Student
Current: Department of Ophthalmology, New Jersey Medical School
zarbin@earthlink.net